How To Re-Authorise Your Facebook Permissions

In This Article

Video Walkthrough

Why Do I Need To Re-Authorise Permissions?

You may need to re-authorise your SmarterQueue permissions if you're experiencing any of the following issues: 

Why is re-authorisation required? 

  • You may have inadvertently removed a permission that SmarterQueue requires while editing othe permissions in Facebook
  • If you recently added a new Page or Group to your Facebook Profile, you may need to re-authorise permissions so that your new Page has the same SmarterQueue permissions as the Pages that already exist
  • Facebook sometimes invalidates your permissions token for security reasons (e.g. if you change your Facebook password), so you will have to re-connect SmarterQueue to get a new permission token

How To Re-Authorise Your Facebook Permissions

1. On the Facebook website, Navigate to Settings > Business Integrations

2. Find the SmarterQueue App, use the check-box to select it, then click the blue  Remove button

3. After clicking 'Remove', you'll see a pop-up asking if you'd also like to “delete all posts, photos, and videos on Facebook that SmarterQueue may have posted on your behalf." It is very important to leave this unchecked unless you really do want to delete any posts that have been published to Facebook via SmarterQueue.

Once you've read and understood the pop-up, click 'Remove'

4. You'll see a final confirmation pop-up stating that SmarterQueue has been removed. Click 'Done'

5. Navigate back to the SmarterQueue website inside your browser and go to the Profiles page

6. You'll notice that some of your Facebook Page(s)/Group(s) need to be re-connected. To do so, click the down arrow on the Facebook Page or Group icon and select “Re-connect Profile” from the drop-down menu 

7. You’ll be redirected back to the Facebook website and see a dialogue box pop up where you can then click to ‘Continue as’ your Facebook Profile

Important Note: This pop up is to confirm that you're logged in as the right user! Rest assured, this does not give SmarterQueue permission to manage your Personal Facebook Profile in any way.  

8. In the next dialogue box, you’ll be asked ‘What Pages you want to use with SmarterQueue?’ Use the checkboxes next to each Page to indicate that you’d like to allow connection to SmarterQueue. Feel free to uncheck any pages you won't want to connect. 

Once you're finished, click 'Next' 

Note: This is simply an authorisation step inside Facebook. You'll be able to choose which Pages to connect to SmarterQueue later. 

9. On this screen, please ensure that all of the permissions are enabled and switched to ‘Yes’, then click ‘Done’

Note: In order to use the SmarterQueue Social Inbox, you'll need to ensure all 4 of these permissions are enabled. 

10. You’ll now see a confirmation that ‘You’ve now linked SmarterQueue to Facebook’ so you can click ‘OK’ 

11. Once you’re redirected back to SmarterQueue, you can then ‘Choose which Facebook Page(s) you want to add' by clicking on the relevant page card and then selecting ‘Add’ 

Great job! You successfully re-authorised your SmarterQueue permissions with Facebook and re-connected your Profiles. You can now re-Queue any failed posts from before and get publishing 🎉

Why You Need To Be An Admin On Your Facebook Page/Group In Order To Connect It To SmarterQueue

In order to re-authorize a Facebook Page, your personal Facebook Profile must be a “Page Admin” for that specific Page. Users with other roles like Editor, Moderator, Advertiser or Analyst cannot re-authorise the connection between the Facebook Page and SmarterQueue. Please see these detailed articles from the Facebook Help Center for more information:

Please note that when trying to add your Facebook Page or Group to SmarterQueue, you'll need to accept several levels of permissions. While it may like you’re connecting and giving permission to SmarterQueue to post to your personal Facebook Profile, this is not the case!  SmarterQueue does not have permission to manage or post to your Personal Facebook Profile in any way.  

This is simply how Facebook allows third-party apps and all social media tools to connect with your Page or Group – you must first connect your Profile then give permission to post to your Pages/Groups.

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback 💫 There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us