What Happens To Images When Bulk Importing?

In This Article

How To Bulk Import

There are several ways to bulk import. For a full explanation of each method, please check out the following articles:

To access the bulk importer, navigate to Add Content then select the relevant method from the drop-down menu

Once you've chosen a method and searched for the content you'd like to import, toggle Bulk Import mode to 'On'

When bulk importing, you'll then see several options for how to handle your images

What Does 'Use Existing Images' Mean?

  • If the content you're importing has an image attachment, we will keep it 🎉 
  • Link posts will never show a link preview (or Twitter card) if there is any media attached
  • If the content you're importing has no image attachment, the resulting post will not have an image attached
  • If the post has a link, the resulting post will be published with a link preview (only for Facebook, Twitter, and/TW/LI only) - but only if the site owner has configured their link previews correctly

What Does 'Remove Images' Mean?

  • If the content you're importing has an image attachment, we will remove it
    • The resulting post will not have an image attachment
  • However, if the post has a link, the resulting post will be published with a link preview (only for Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn) - but only if the site owner has configured their link previews correctly

What Does 'Add Images' Mean?

  • If the content you're importing has an image attachment, we will keep it
  • If the content you're importing has no image attachment, and no link, the resulting post will have no image attached
  • If the content you're importing has no image attachment, but it does have a link, we will attempt to fetch the primary image from the link, and attach it as a media attachment. 
    • a) This will fail if there is no obvious image for us to select from the page
    • b) If we do find and attach an image, it will mean that the link preview (or Twitter card) will NOT appear 

What Are The Default Settings?

In your Settings (⚙️) you can choose your default image handling preference. 

So you can change whether to use existing images, remove images, or add images to your future bulk imports. This will stay the same for all future Posts that you import unless you alter the settings.

You can still make changes for each individual Bulk Import like this:

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback! 💫 There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us