How To Transfer Your Schedule & Content From MeetEdgar, Buffer Or Hootsuite

Fortunately, we’ve worked on making this as easy as possible.

Step 1 – Setting up your Posting Plan

  • When you go through the account setup process, you’ll be asked to create your Posting Plan.
  • We’ll try to auto-detect your existing schedule for your connected Twitter and Facebook accounts, and pre-fill the Posting Plan with your posting times.
  • If we were able to detect your schedule, we’ll show the times as grey timeslots, and you can then ‘paint’ your Categories onto each Timeslot, allowing you to easily define what kind of post to publish and when.
  • Once you’ve painted the Timeslots, or if no posting times were detected, you can then edit your Posting Plan manually – simply click where you want to add a Timeslot or drag the pre-defined Timeslot onto your Posting Plan.

Step 2 – Importing your posts

We’ve designed our Find Content tool to be as flexible as possible – think of it like your Swiss Army pen-knife for social media. 

In this case, you can use it to find and bulk-import lots of your past posts. 

So if your Edgar library of Evergreen content has been posting for a while, or you’ve published posts that you want to re-use, you can take those posts and bring them back into your SmarterQueue Library. 

With the added bonus of being able to see how much engagement each post got!

Short Version:

  • Go to the Find Content page, click in the search bar, and select one of your connected accounts from the drop-down.
  • You can add filters if you want to find specific posts that contain a word, link, or photo.
  • Click the Bulk button at the top right, and edit the Category/account for each post you select to import.
  • Show the Link Options to make sure your links are re-used/updated the way you want.
  • Hit the Queue button, and all of your posts will magically be imported! 🧙🏼♂️

Detailed Version:

  • Go to the Find Content page, and click in the search bar – it will show all of your connected accounts in a drop-down.
  • Click on one of your accounts, and it will fetch a load of recent posts (200 latest posts for Twitter, 30 latest posts for Facebook, and 33 latest posts for Instagram).
  • You can now add search filters to refine which of your posts you fetch – e.g. only posts that contain a specific word, or have a link or photo attached. Very powerful.
  • If you’re filtering for a term doesn’t have a lot of posts, it may take a while to bring back results, as we will search through all of your post history to find all results possible.
  • If you want to fetch more posts, simply scroll to the bottom and click ‘Load More Posts’. You can fetch up to 3,200 latest tweets, and there’s no limit for Facebook or Instagram – other than your patience 😉
  • You’ve got the option to import a single post at a time, using the Share+ button, but you’ll probably want to import lots in one go.
  • At the top right of the results, toggle the Import Mode to Bulk mode.
  • This will let you import lots of posts in one go. You can edit several things before hitting the Queue button at the bottom of the page:
    • De-select any posts that you don’t want to import (using the black tick button)
    • Choose which Category to use for each post
    • Choose which accounts to add the post to
    • Choose whether the post is Evergreen content, or should only be posted once (using the green recycle button)
    • You can edit the post text if you want to update or improve anything. This text will be used for all accounts you select, but once the posts are in your Queue, you can customise the text for each account separately.
    • All of these settings can be applied to individual posts, or you can use the top row to apply the settings to all posts in bulk.
  • Finally, you may wish to change how links are handled, by showing the Link Options with the button at the bottom of the page. You can choose to re-use the links exactly or update them to get more accurate stats. We use your default preferences from the Link Tracking settings page, but you can customise them here if you want. We recommend the following settings:
    • You should only choose the ‘initial’ link if you need to re-use the exact same link, because it won’t tell you how many people clicked on your new posts vs your original one – it will aggregate them into one number. We normally recommend sharing the ‘final’ link, so that we can create a new bitly link for this new post, and you’ll get accurate click data.
    • Use bitly, so you can track how many people click on these links.
    • Unless you had previously carefully created your own UTM tags for Google Analytics campaign tracking, you should select the ‘Remove Existing UTM’ option, so that you benefit from the more accurate UTM tags that SmarterQueue can add.
  • Once everything looks right, hit the Queue Selected Posts button at the bottom of the page, and all of your posts will magically be imported into your Queue.
  • You can then repeat this for each of your accounts.
Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback 💫 There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us