Working with links

Links in the Post Editor

How do I add a link to my post?

Type the link into the post text.

How do I edit the link in my post?

DON’T edit the link directly in the post – instead, click the red “Remove Link” button, and type the new link into the post text.

How do I add Google Analytics UTM tracking parameters to my link?

This should be turned on by default, unless you’ve changed your General Settings. Click on the Link Settings tab, and edit the Google Analytics section. Click to read more about UTM Parameters

How do I customise the UTM parameters for each social profile?

This can be done automatically for you, by using our Template Tags. Click on Link Settings > Google Analytics > Edit UTM Settings. We recommend using the _ACCOUNT_ tag wherever you want to have the name of the social profile, or the _NETWORK_ tag wherever you want the name of the social platform. Click to learn how UTM parameters work

My link has lots of ugly text added after it, like this:
utm_source=_NETWORK_&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=_ACCOUNT_&utm_content=_CATEGORY_

These are Google Analytics UTM tracking parameters. They help improve your Google Analytics, so you can see how your website visitors found your website. The capitalised words will be replaced with your own profiles/categories, which you can see in the Preview Pane. If you don’t want them in your link, you can turn UTM off from the Link Settings tab; or you can use Bitly to shorten the link into something prettier. Click to learn how UTM parameters work

I want to use Bitly for click-tracking and/or to shorten my link.

Make sure you have a Bitly account connected, and your General Settings have Click Tracking turned on. You can add one or more Bitly accounts from the Profiles page.

In the Post Editor, click on the Link Settings tab, and edit the Click Tracking setting. Click to learn how Bitly works. Click to read about changing Bitly settings

My post shows “No link tracking”.

This is because Bitly click tracking is turned off in Link Settings, or else you’ve disabled click tracking in your General Settings.

I added a link in my post text, but it’s showing up as [[link]].

This is placeholder text to represent where the link will appear, and will be replaced with the actual link when you save the post. You can see in the Preview pane what the link will look like.

Why does my Bitly link show up as http://bit.ly/placeholder in the Preview Pane?

This is because we only generate the correct Bitly link after you’ve saved the post. You’ll see the post has a correct Bitly link once it’s in your Queue.

Do I have to make separate Bitly links for each profile?

We take care of all this for you! If you turn Bitly click tracking on, and create a link post for several profiles, each post will get a unique Bitly link, so that you get separate click stats for each profile. You can also customise your Bitly settings for each profile.

Will evergreen posts use the same Bitly link on every cycle?

No – we automatically generate a unique Bitly link for each cycle, so that you get separate click stats for each cycle.

Can I remove the link from the post text once I’ve attached it?

For Facebook and LinkedIn, once the link is attached to the post, you can remove it from your post text.
For Twitter and Instagram, you have to keep the link inside your post text. If you have removed the link from the post text, or edited it manually, you will get a warning when you save the post, and an option to re-add the correct link.

How will the link look when published?

When posting a link to Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter or Pinterest, they will usually show a preview of the link (image + title + description). We show a preview of how this should look in the Preview Pane. Bear in mind that Facebook and Twitter are responsible for this link preview, so if it doesn’t look correct when published, you would need to check that your website is configured correctly for link previews.

I want to have a picture of the link added to the post.

People sometimes incorrectly refer to the Link Preview as a “picture” being added to the post. There is a link preview (image + title + description) added to posts by Facebook and Twitter when they detect a link in the post. When creating a Pinterest post with a link, you can choose an image from the link to be used as the main picture.
If you attach an image file to the post, it will replace the link preview.

How do I change which image is used as the link preview?

For Facebook and Twitter, you cannot control which image is used in the link preview. This is pre-defined by the website owner, in the metatags of the linked page. If you do not like the preview image for that page, you can choose to attach an image instead, which will replace the link preview (including the title and description).
For LinkedIn and Pinterest, you can change which image appears in the link preview. Click on the Link Settings pane on the right, and scroll to the bottom. You will see a Link Preview section with tabs for each social platform that you have selected. Clicking on the LinkedIn/Pinterest tab will show you the current image chosen, with arrows at the top left. You can use the arrows to choose a different image from the link.
You can also upload your own image to be used as the preview image for LinkedIn and Pinterest.

How do I attach an image from the linked web page?

Once you’ve added a link to the post, click “Add Media”, and there’ll be an option at the top to “Choose an Image from your link” – click this button, and you’ll see thumbnails of the images we found on the web page. Click on an image to attach it to your post. This will prevent the link preview from appearing.

Links in the Bulk Importer

How do I edit the Bitly or Google Analytics UTM settings?

At the bottom of the Find Content screen you’ll see an “Import Options” button. This lets you edit the Bitly Click Tracking settings, and the Google Analytics UTM settings in the same way as the Post Editor (described above).

How to I attach an image from each linked web page?

In the top row of the Bulk Import screen, you’ll find a drop-down menu with options for adding images (Add Images, Existing Images, Remove Images).

The default value is Existing Images (you can change this from your General Settings) – this means any link posts that don’t have an image showing in the bulk importer will show a Link Preview (if configured by that website). All other posts with an image will have the image attached.

If you choose “Add Images”, it will attempt to attach an image to any link posts that don’t already have an image showing in the bulk importer. This will usually be the primary image from the link, and will replace any link previews.

If you choose “Remove Images”, all existing images in the bulk importer will be removed, and link posts will then show the Link Preview (if configured by that website). Click to read more about managing your image settings

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us