How Does The Queue Work?
In This Article:
The Order Of Your Queue
All posts that are added to your queue have an order. So Post 1 at the top will publish first, while Post 10 at the bottom will publish last.
When you add a new post to your Queue, you can decide if it goes to the top of the Queue (thus, bumping the rest of the Queue down 1 spot,) if it goes to the bottom of the Queue, or if it gets scheduled to a specific time and date that you set.
When adding a post, if you choose Add to Bottom when saving a new post to your Queue, it will become the last post of the existing Queue.
If you choose to Add to Top, it will be added to the top of the Queue, pushing everything else down 1 place.
After adding content to your Queue, you can always reorder your posts if you need to.
If you use Set a Date and Time and manually set a day/time, it will be independent of the Queue and ‘pinned’ to its own specific Timeslot.
💡If you have lots of Evergreen posts in your Queue and you want to top it up with some fresh content (whether one-time or evergreen), we recommend using “Add to Top” so that it gets posted before the other posts.
The Queue In Action
When it’s time to publish your posts, it doesn’t matter if they are one-time or Evergreen; they will be published in the order that they appear in the Queue.
When a one-time post is published, it gets removed from the Queue, and the next item in the Queue becomes the top item.
Whenever an Evergreen post is published, it gets moved to the bottom of the Queue to be posted again. So if it was #1 in a Queue with 10 items, when it gets posted, the 2nd item moves up to #1, and the Evergreen post is added to the bottom of the Queue as #10.
So, as with the example above, if your Queue has 3 Evergreen posts (Posts A, C and E) and 2 one-time posts (Posts B and D), it will post them all in order.
By the time it has posted all 5 items, there are only 3 (Evergreen) items left in your Queue (See Column 5 in the example above.)
Those 3 posts will continue to be posted in order (with each post being re-copied to the bottom of your Queue,) ad infinitum — or until you’ve set a post to expire or you manually delete it.